Results
Number of results: 890
-
MonumentsIgreja da Misericórdia - ÓbidosFounded by the Queen Dona Leonor in the 15th century, this church has an important set of artistic treasures. One of the most significant images is the old blue porcelain statue of the Virgin Mary, which can be seen in the entrance porch.The (...)
Telephone: +351 262 959 138
-
MonumentsSé Catedral de Viana do CasteloFrom ancient church, to cathedral since 1977.Construction of the Viana do Castelo Main Church dates back to the first half of the 15th century, influenced by Gothic aesthetics. The region, situated between the Minho and Lima rivers, has always (...)
Telephone: +351 258 822 436
-
MonumentsCastelo de ArnoiaCastelo de Arnóia or Castelo de MoreiraThe hill fort consists of a (partly destroyed) quadrangular crenellated tower connected to a polygonal wall. The castle is entered through its only gate.Inside the fortifications are the remains of a cistern.
Telephone: +351 255 810 706
Fax: +351 255 810 709
E-mail: rotadoromanico@valsousa.pt
Website: http://www.rotadoromanico.com
-
MonumentsIgreja de Santa Clara - SantarémThe Igreja de Santa Clara is situated at one of the limits of the city of Santarém, in an area beyond the walls. It is a 13th-century church, built at the orders of D. Afonso III (1248-1279) for his daughter, D. Leonor Afonso, who took her religious (...)
-
MonumentsCastelo de BragaThe Keep (Braga Castle)Set off by the Praça do Castelo and the Praça da República, the Keep is all that remains of Braga castle. This thirty-metre high granite structure gives an idea of the five towers that guarded over the medieval walls.At the (...)
-
-
MonumentsAntigos Paços do Concelho - Viana do CasteloThe construction of the former town hall spread over the reigns of D. Manuel I (who began the work) and D. João III.The whole building is made of austere granite and the ground floor forms a porchway of three pointed arches, corresponding on the (...)
-
-
MonumentsCastelo de ElvasThe fortress perimeter has the shape of an irregular polygon, with a maximum diameter of 1,000 metres. There are three main entrances to the castle - the Porta da Esquina, Porta de Olivença and Porta de São Vicente. The keep was rebuilt in 1488.
-
MonumentsSantuário de Nossa Senhora de AiresOur Lady of Pity, succouring the believers.In this sanctuary the Ançã-stone image of the old patroness, Our Lady of Pity, is worshipped. This image, in which Our Lady is seated with Jesus dead in her arms, is an object of great faith, for (...)
Telephone: +351 266 953 133
