Quinta da Conceição
Quinta da Conceição
Other
Close to one of the Port of Leixões docks, there is the impressive greenery and woodland making up what is known locally as the Quinta da Conceição (Conceição's Estate).
Within the grounds, there remains the Franciscan monastery. The monks came here in 1478 to escape the windy and Atlantic-exposed Boa Nova monastery, located right where the Lighthouse now stands. A small chapel remains as testament to the former address of these monks.
Of the monastery, all that remains is a fine Manueline entranceway, a few tombs, the well and Fountain of St. John. Currently, the Quinta da Conceição is a great place be it for a gentle stroll or even a little recreational exercise with tennis courts, a swimming pool, a mini-golf course and a fitness circuit.
Within the grounds, there remains the Franciscan monastery. The monks came here in 1478 to escape the windy and Atlantic-exposed Boa Nova monastery, located right where the Lighthouse now stands. A small chapel remains as testament to the former address of these monks.
Of the monastery, all that remains is a fine Manueline entranceway, a few tombs, the well and Fountain of St. John. Currently, the Quinta da Conceição is a great place be it for a gentle stroll or even a little recreational exercise with tennis courts, a swimming pool, a mini-golf course and a fitness circuit.
Contacts
Address:
Leixões - Matosinhos